Empty houses and empty plates but never empty stomachs

I had a very bad day….day, I mean week..eh month…so I want to show some photos that fit to my mood…

bild-126

It’s taken in a small town about 1 hour away from my town. It’s a border town which lost all its industry , so everybody moves away. I like it how the old empty houses and the empty street are reflected in the window of this closed shop.

feb0035

But when I looked up my photographies I also discovered this one:

CIMG3038.JPG

And it made me share the best Bagels recipe I have ever tried:

1 package dry yeast

120 ml warm milk

200 g flour

30 g butter

15 g sugar

1 tsp salt

1 eggwhite

optional:

sesame seed, sunflower seeds

1 1/2 tbsp baking soda

I write these recipes for people who know about cooking, so everybody will know how to make a yeast dough….so here comes the short version

Dissolve yeast in milk, mix all ingredients (eggwhite makes them crispy) except for soda and seeds, beat them well…blah blah….let rise on a warm place.

Divide in 9 balls, make a hole in each ball using your thumb, let rise a gain.

Heat water (use baking soda and you get pretzel-bagels!!!), put every bagel in the boiling water for 30 seconds, put back on sheet and cover with seeds.

Bake at 350°F for 20-25 min.

Let cool on a locked place or they will disappear befor you can use them…:)

I like them with pastrami or smoked salmon or just with butter for breakfast…

 

Leave a Reply

