From hand to mouth, from pain to kings

Today I want to show a short clip about my two cats Hannibal and Lennard. It’s the daily food fight, Hannibal is hungry as always and keeps Lennard away from the food. But this time Lennard uses a trick Hannibal used before and Lennard had learnt:

This weekend I’ll try to post two recipes:

A pain ordinaire (I just baked one for tomorrow’s breakfast, a friend of mine gave me some homemade Red Wine jelly and I want to serve it with baguette..) and of course a roscon de reyes (I also made this evening for tomorrow)…..I haven’t made a picture yet, so I want to wait….but on the other hand, everybody knows what a baguette looks like….

so here is the recipe:

French Bread (pain ordinaire)

1 pck dry yeast

1/4 cup warm water

1 3/4 cup warm water

1 1/2 tsp salt

5 cups flour

Dissolve the yeast in 1/4 cup water. Mix the other ingredients and add yeast-water. Beat it for about 3 Minutes (maybe you’ll have to add some flour until the dough isn’t sticky anymore). Let rise on a warm place.

I made it in the morning before I went to work and put it in my bed. After supper I went on with the recipe..

Form two long loaves, cut them cross with a sharp knife and brush with milk.

Put it in the oven at 120°F for about 20 minutes to rise again (in summer you can put it elsewhere, but at the moment Bavaria gets an Arctic shock!!)

Bake at 400°F for 50 minutes…simple but quite good….

Leave a Reply

