Paula Pummel, a ray of light in a dark hour

Hi everybody! I’ve got very sad news, Mimi  – my mother’s cat I – is dead, acute kidney injury. She really wanted to live up till her 18th birthday on March 11th, Saturday evening she started getting weaker and weaker. On Monday she passed away. I still haven’t realized that she’s gone – losing someone you know half of your life isn’t an easy thing…

IMG_1552

After Mimi’s death my mother went to Lenny’s veterinary to get his medicine and told her about her loss….later the same day she got a call from the veterinary who told her about a poor cat, whom her owners wanted to get rid off as quick as possible. The owners didn’t know anybody to take care of the cat, so they wanted to leave her on some farm. The veterinary  remembered the conversation with my Mum and thought she would be a perfect new owner for this unloved cat. Mum phoned me and told me that she wanted a new cat (we already talked about it) but that this would go to fast….it would dishonor Mimi.

But I told her, that this would be complete nonsense.  Nobody would ever forget about Mimi, but this cat needs someone now….so she should take a look at the cat, then she knew if it’s right…..to cut a long story short: now we have a new family member, Paula Pummel (means something like Paula Plumper) And Mum seems happier without forgetting our Mimi.

Although our home is a gloomy one, we also did some great meals this week and are preparing for St. Patrick’s Day.

We had a very fine Cashew Chicken by my sista:

IMG_1668.JPG

My beloved Jambalaya, which I forgot to take a picture of…..and Boudin Balls with salad and eggs:

IMG_1669.JPG

My recipe for fried Boudin Balls

250 g pork liver, cut in cubes

250 g ground pork

1 cup cooked rice

2 sticks of celery

2 cloves of garlic

1 small onion

salt

pepper

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1 tsp chili powder

1 egg

1 Tbsp hominy

breadcrumbs

Mix meat, vegetables and season them overnight. Add 3/4 cup water and bring to boil, simmer for about 45 minutes.

Drain the meat saving the liquid and search for the liver cubes, which you now have to cut into very small bites (it would be much easier to use a meat grinder for this part….)

Mix meat and rice with your hands, add an egg and hominy, mix again.

Form balls about the size of golf balls. roll in breadcrumbs and deep fry them.

I’ve never eaten Boudins, only German Leberwurst, but I’ve found a recipe on the internet, put a few changes on it and it just tasted great!!

Leave a Reply

