We need to talk about Lennard

Before we have to discuss serious events concerning our cat Lennard, I want to start with pictures of our ‘One day ahead-St. Patrick’s Day Dinner’

IMG_1672.JPG

We started to day with delicious Oatmeal Bread (made by me) – yes, no Soda Bread, I never managed to make a proper one so I gave it up.

The decoration was in the Irish colors and rather cheap, just colored paper, orange napkins and underplates and a green table runner.

IMG_1678

My sista made a 7up-Cake decorated with clovers and – as I told you before – a vension Guiness stew (she put it in the slow cooker!!)

IMG_1680

Yeah it was hot and steamy as you can see on this picture, good for the taste but not so good for taking pictures, but taste is much more important 🙂

IMG_1682

And here you can see my brand new Beer Glasses (Birthday present, first use), they are sooo amazing, they are designed by Ritzenhoff, an old and famous German glass manufacture if you are interested, take a closer look .

And was is the green liquid? Also something VERY German, it’s beer mixed with woodruff syrup, a cocktail called Berliner Weisse mit Schuss. Woodruff is something nobody outside Germany uses for cooking (maybe because it’s poisonous..) Here you use it for syrup (very green), Lemonade, Mai Bowle (some sort of punch) and jelly. I have woodruff on my balcony, for Mai Bowle, because here it has to be fresh…. and how does it taste then? Dunno how to describe it, something between grass and poison I guess….

I would give you a recipe for Maibowle here, because it tastes great in a very weird way…but as you won’t get woodruff outside Germany and in Germany everybody knows how to make it, it would be useless.

So I’ll give you my Oatmeal Bread:

Ingredients:

350 ml warm milk

2 tsp sugar

1 1/2 pck dry yeast

350 g flour

2 Tbsp oil

125 g oatmeal

1 Tbsp Chia seeds (yes, superfood!!)

1 Tbsp sesame seeds

1 tsp salt

Mix milk, sugar, yeast and flour and let rise on a warm place for 30 Min.

Add remaining ingredients and beat well, let rise for 1 1/2 hours.

Beat dough again, divide it into 3 parts, form a short braid, seal the ends with water.

Put it into the cold oven at 120°F for 15-20 Min. then bake it at 400°F for 40-45 Min.

Remove from the oven and brush the hot bread with cold water (not too much)

Enough of cooking and St. Patrick’s day!! The topic of the post was Lennard, remember that?!?

So what about Lennard? I dunno, maybe you can tell me! Take a look at a short video I made today, he is licking Hannibal!! This is by far the strangest couple you’ve ever met. Everybody told us Lennard has been alone much too long for another cat and Hannibal hated his two former cat-housemates and now…….

 

Leave a Reply

