The tragic fate of Humpty Dumpty and the Fish-Footman

It’s Friday again 🙂 and a really warm and sunny one here in Germany, much too warm for this part of the year, more May or June than March…but it was a great day for cleaning our balcony.

Our tomatoes last year had been a disaster, so we decided to plant only bell peppers and Indian cress, which I use for decorating my food..

Ah and there is the next topic of my post: food!!

It’s Friday and therefore I put some fish on the menu:

Kedgeree

1 1/4 cups rice

2 1/2 cups water

1 tsp instant vegetable stock

1 stick celery chopped

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp coriander seeds, crushed

1/2 tsp turmeric

1 dash lemon juice and one of vinegar

4 boiled eggs, cut in 1 1/2 inch pieces

1 filet of a smoked fish (any of your choice)

 

Mix the first 9 ingredients in a large pan.

I usually do that in the morning before I go to work and let the rice soak while I’m heading hell and back again. Cooking time will be much shorter for the rice and we are saving energy.

Then bring the rice to the boil and let it simmer until done. In the meantime you can peel and cut the eggs and the fish. Add it to the rice and season with salt or curry.

Quick, easy and delicious and you have time to do some housework.

IMG_1701

Hannibal and Lenny also enjoyed the sun.

And here are some brand new pictures of them…..I wonder other people have so nice pictures of cats doing funny things…..I would like too…but I can’t ….I’ve never seen my cats do anything at all except for sleeping, eating or just sitting and looking around……Lenny isn’t even looking……….

 

Wish you all a sunny and funny weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

